Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Going Blond

My husband is a very happy man at the moment. He has been asking me to go back to my natural blond (although I think if we let it really go natural now, it would be blondish gray) for a while and last night, it happened.
He had the day off yesterday, so...as organized as I am, I called to see if I could get an appointment with my hair dresser that day. Surprise, she had none. I then talked to my girlfriend who I think has done a great job on her hair and asked where she was working. Turns out she (Isabelle from Brooklyn, NY) has opened her own salon. Well, yeah, sounds good, so I call. Now I am thinking, there is nooooo way that she could fit me in today. She called me back and asked if I could come in by 5:30. I got there at 5:40, but only because I could not find the place.
Let the games begin! Now let me first start by telling you that my husband is with the girls...yes, both of them. AND, he is taking them to CiCi's Pizza. It's like a buffet pizza place. It is my older daughters school night there, so it is packed to the gills with crazy kids and cranky parents. My husband is very brave. That being said, let me continue...
...I sit in Isabelle's chair and she is looking at my very long very dark brown hair. I explain to her that I would like to get back to my more natural color, which is blond. She did not even flinch. She just started explaining the process of what she would like to do and how it works better than bleaching and how it will not be blond, but it's better for my hair. Then she tells me that I will be blond because she will then do "heavy foils"...I will explain later..to get the color I am wanting. Then I tell her I want to cut off about 5 inches and give it some style. OH! Did I mention that I had not had my hair cut in 8 months? Or how about the fact that I had been coloring it from a box.
Where was I? She wets my hair then starts the haircut (20 min.) then she gets the first round of whatever to slather on my hair. An hour later I am under the hair dryer thing (30 min) that looks like you are getting some sort of brain scan done. The whole time we have been talking and she keeps telling my how much hair I have. I know this, it's on my head. I wanted 5 inches off so I could loose some weight!
Now it's time to wash all that goop out of my hair. Now the real fun begins, heavy foils. She comes out with her color and her pile of precut foils and we begin. She put foils in every 1/3 of an inch. This took an hour and a half. Now halfway through this, my husband calls and I can hear our youngest screaming in the back ground. It is 8:20 by the way. "Aisling has just thrown up milk and pizza in her crib, how much long will I be?" is what my husband is trying to say through her crying. I am thinking...hmmmm...if I leave now I am going to look half zebra, CRAP! So I ask him some more questions and suggest getting her into the bath and see if that helps some and I will talk to Isabelle and see how much longer it will be. So I hang up and wait for Isabelle to come back, she was mixing more color because, "I have so much hair." She thinks we can be done in 30 min. Now we were only half way through the foiling process. I was thinking that was wishful thinking, but I passed that on. What do I know right? When she was done foiling my hair I was sure that I could contact aliens if I just squished my eyes closed really tight.
At 9:15 we start taking the foils in the back out. At 9:25 the rest come out and she washes my hair and puts the toner in. Now I am back under the brain scan dryer, looking at facebook and texting Pete to see how they are doing and telling him that I am not on my way home yet.
After about 20 minutes she takes me back for my third shampoo and seems to be happy with the results of the color...I am starting to feel hopeful, for many reasons.
She sits me down, and she tells me she wants to give me long bangs. I look at her like she is nuts. She says it will only take a few minutes and it will make me look younger. WELL, CHOP IT OFF THEN!!!! Who says no to looking younger?!
I Love my hair cut. I left the shop at 10:30. I LOVE my hair cut. My butt was however numb and not from the cold.
When I got home at 10:45 (I did not run any stop signs) Aisling was sitting (well really she was climbing around) in my husbands lap in just her diaper with her paci in her mouth. She trotted over to me saying, "Mamma, Mamman, dabbe blabber shubba biba", and pointing to her room. I am guess what she was telling me was, "Mamma, Mamma, some nasty stuff flew right out of my mouth and all over my crib. Please clean it up, I AM TIRED!" So we went into her room to inspect the damage. It was not too bad, so I handed Pete some clean jammies to put on Aisling and I started stripping the crib down and putting on clean sheets, washing the railing that it had dried to and then on to the carpet. I got that cleaned up while Aisling watch from the rocking chair with amazing interest and then told her to get her book out. I got her tucked in at 11:45.
I love my haircut...but I don't ever want to do that again!!!!!